Governing Body

Local Governing Body

North Durham Academy is part of New College Durham Academies Trust (NCDAT).  The Trust is governed by a Board of Trustees who are responsible for the administration of the Trust and for the academic performance of the schools within the Trust. 

The Local Governing Body (LGB) of North Durham Academy operates as a committee of the Trust Board.  The LGB meets twice each term to consider key aspects of the Academy and challenge the Principal and senior leadership team.  The Principal’s Report, Finance, Human Resources, Business, ICT and Health and Safety are standing items on the agenda. 

Membership of the LGB comprises up to six Lead Sponsor governors, one co-sponsor governor, two parent governors and two staff governors. 

Governors are actively involved in the school and visit regularly. Each governor is linked to a specific aspect of the Academy’s work.  We facilitate governor training so that governors are up to date with the constant changes in education.

For more information, use the following links:

Local Governing Body List of members - September 2020

Local Governing Body Register of Interests - October 2020

Local Governing Body Links - November 2020

Local Governing Body Terms of Reference - September 2020

Code of Conduct for Directors and Local Governing Body Members - July 2018

Standing Orders of the Board and Committees - April 2019 reviewed April 2020